the MFA in Writing for Children & Young Adults Author Blog

Paperback Party!

Posted by Adi Rule on Wed, Oct 12, 2016 @ 09:10 AM

It's a paperback party! Here's a peek at some recent and upcoming paperback releases from VCFA authors! Click the covers for more info.

Nomad-cover.jpgNomad by William Alexander

 

Owl Girl by Mary Atkinson

 

23866208.jpgThe Buccaneers' Code by Caroline Carlson

 

final-cover-Nearer-Moon.jpg     41g6Wa8HCL._SX325_BO1204203200_.jpg

A Nearer Moon and Audacity by Melanie Crowder

 

CharmedChildrencover_1.jpg

The Charmed Children of Rookskill Castle by Janet Fox

 

076369097X.jpgSmashie McPerter and the Mystery of Room 11 by N. Griffin, illustrated by Kate Hindley

 

51Jzu35PCeL._SY344_BO1204203200_.jpg

Evil Librarian by Michelle Knudsen

 

RosaSola_CVR_sized_for_website-330.jpg

Rosa, Sola by Carmela A. Martino

 

You Were Here by Cori McCarthy

 

24836226.jpg

The Devil and Winnie Flynn by Micol Ostow

 

9780374300197.jpg

How to Share with a Bear by Eric Pinder, illustrated by Stephanie Graegin

 

24885769._UY2114_SS2114_.jpg

All We Left Behind by Ingrid Sundberg

 

51w829OOxIL._SX329_BO1204203200_.jpg

Paper Hearts by Meg Wiviott

Topics: eric pinder, N. Griffin, 2015 release, Cori McCarthy, paperback release, Micol Ostow, Michelle Knudsen, Melanie Crowder, Caroline Carlson, Meg Wiviott, Ingrid Sundberg, 2016 release, Janet Fox, Carmela A. Martino, William Alexander, Mary Atkinson

Ingrid Sundberg and ALL WE LEFT BEHIND

Posted by Adi Rule on Tue, Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:12 AM

Today we're celebrating Ingrid Sundberg's evocative debut novel, All We Left Behind (Simon & Schuster/Simon Pulse)!

Book_Cover_All_We_Left_Behind.jpg

For fans of Simone Elkeles and Courtney Summers, this haunting debut novel is about two teenagers battling their inner demons as they fall in love for the first time.

When Marion Taylor, the shy bookworm, meets sexy soccer captain Kurt Medford at a party, what seems like a sure thing quickly turns into a total mess. One moment they’re alone in the middle of a lake, igniting sparks of electricity. The next, they’re on dry land, pretending they’ve never met. But rather than the end, that night is the beginning of something real, terrifying, and completely unforgettable for them both.

As Marion and Kurt struggle to build a relationship from the fractured pieces of their pasts, every kiss they share uncovers memories both would rather keep buried. Marion desperately wants to trust Kurt and share the one secret she’s never told anyone—but some truths aren’t meant to be spoken out loud. Kurt is also still haunted by his mother’s death, by the people he hurt, and by the mistakes he can never take back.

Explosive together and hollow apart, Marion and Kurt seem totally wrong for each other—but could they turn out to be more right than they ever thought possible?

Welcome, Ingrid! Tell us about how you sold this book. What was it like when you found out? Do you have an agent? Were there a lot of revisions along the way?

I do have an agent, and there were three major rounds of revision with my agent before we went on submission. It took around eight months from signing with my agent to actually going on sub. Once we went on submission, it miraculously only took two weeks to sell All We Left Behind! I think that goes to show that you just have to find the right person who loves your story. I was really surprised when I heard the news. It had taken so long to get an agent, then revise, that I was ready to wash my hands of this book and move on. It was spectacular to realize that after ten years of writing, I was finally going to have a published book!

Ingrid_Signing_Books.jpgIngrid signing at the AWLB book launch!

What was the most difficult element to cut/change during the revision process and why?

All We Left Behind was originally written in poetic vignettes from two different characters' POV’s. It was similar to a verse novel, with short scenes that created emotional moments. One of the biggest revisions was with my agent. We decided to change the book from vignettes to longer sections of prose within each character’s viewpoint. The biggest challenge was creating transitions and deciding which character POV a scene should be told in. In the early drafts, you flipped between each POV so quickly; you got both sides in each scene. Now, I had to choose which character perspective would be the most effective. 

What nugget of craft advice has been especially helpful to you?

There’s so so so many! But the biggest one was probably from my semester with Amanda Jenkins. She told me to forget what was happening in a scene. Forget about the plot, and focus on how my character feels in a scene. This caused me to finally get inside my character’s skin and be honest. 

My writing mantra became: “What does your character feel in this scene. Now what do they want to do about that feeling.” What’s amazing is that the plot takes care of itself when you do this. Your characters start to act in honest, surprising, and powerful ways. 

Tell us about something special you keep on your desk/wall as you work.

Remember those class photos we took at residency? Well, I have mine hanging up next to my desk! My class is always looking over me and helping me keep my momentum!

Dystropians_Framed_on_Wall.jpg

Ingrid's class, the talented and photogenic Dystropians.

Who were your advisors at VCFA?

Laura Kvasnosky, Amanda Jenkins, Mary Quattlebaum, and Shelley Tanaka. All of my advisors taught me so much and were instrumental in helping All We Left Behind become the book it is. But I never would have written this book without Amanda Jenkins. The novel is actually dedicated to her.

AWLB_Dedication.jpg

How did attending VCFA affect your writing life?

It completely revolutionized my writing. It showed me how much I had left to learn, and then gave me the tools to address any problem that came my way. It broke down my bad habits. It made me brave in a way I didn’t know how to be before. It was transformative. Plus, it gave me an incredible community that I will always be grateful for.

What was special about your VCFA graduating class?

My graduating class is very close. We’re the Dystropians, named after the impending Mayan apocalypse that was supposed to happen when we graduated in 2013. But we also had a lot of challenges that caused us to be very close: class members dropping out, deaths in the family, divorces, house floods, and more. Coming together every residency was a ray of sunshine for all of us! The Dystropians have become some of my best friends. In fact, three were bridesmaids in my wedding! We all really adore one another and we try our best to meet up once a year as a class to keep supporting each other’s writing.

Ingrid_with_gift_from_Dystropians.jpgSome love from classmates at the AWLB book launch.

Thanks so much for stopping by, Ingrid. Congratulations on your amazing debut! Welcome to the world, All We Left Behind!

Ingrid_Sundberg_Author_Photo1_Square.jpgIngrid Sundberg holds an MFA in writing for children from the Vermont College of Fine Arts and an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman University. She grew up in Maine, but now lives in sunny California, where she misses the colors of autumn. She loves polka dots, baking, and dying her hair every color of the rainbow. All We Left Behind is her first novel. Find her online at: www.ingridsundberg.com

You can also catch up with Ingrid on Twitter (@ingridsundberg), Facebook (ingridsnotes), Instagram (@isundberg), and Pinterest (ingridsundberg).

 

 

 

Topics: young adult, 2015 release, Simon & Schuster, Ingrid Sundberg, Simon Pulse

ALL WE LEFT BEHIND is Here!

Posted by Adi Rule on Wed, Dec 02, 2015 @ 12:12 PM

Huge congratulations to Ingrid Sundberg on the release of her stunning YA debut, All We Left Behind (Simon Pulse)!

allweleftbehind.jpg

From the jacket: "For teen couple Marion and Kurt, every kiss unravels memories they would both rather forget, and long-buried secrets threaten to tear them apart. Explosive together and hollow apart, Marion and Kurt may be totally wrong for each other – or more right than they ever thought possible."

We can't wait to read on!

Topics: young adult, 2015 release, Ingrid Sundberg, Simon Pulse

Latest Posts

Posts by category

Subscribe to the Blog

WCYA AUTHOR BOOK RELEASES

  • CIRCLE, SQUARE, MOOSE
    CIRCLE, SQUARE, MOOSE
  • THE COLOR OF MY WORDS
    THE COLOR OF MY WORDS
  • Purple Nails and Puppy Tails
    Purple Nails and Puppy Tails
  • Petal and Poppy
    Petal and Poppy
  • Mumbet's Declaration of Independence
    Mumbet's Declaration of Independence
  • Mogie: The Heart of the House
    Mogie: The Heart of the House
  • Map Art Lab
    Map Art Lab
  • Makeover Magic
    Makeover Magic
  • The Life of Ty
    The Life of Ty
  • Jubilee!
    Jubilee!
  • Jack the Castaway
    Jack the Castaway
  • Hope Is a Ferris Wheel
    Hope Is a Ferris Wheel
  • Tap Tap Boom Boom
    Tap Tap Boom Boom
  • Skin and Bones
    Skin and Bones
  • Signed, Skype Harper
    Signed, Skype Harper
  • Revolution
    Revolution
  • Read, Write, and Recite Free Verse Poetry
    Read, Write, and Recite Free Verse Poetry
  • A Girl Called Fearless
    A Girl Called Fearless
  • All That Glitters
    All That Glitters
  • The Art of Goodbye
    The Art of Goodbye
  • Blue Iguana
    Blue Iguana
  • Caminar
    Caminar
  • Chasing the Milky Way
    Chasing the Milky Way
  • The Devil's Temptation
    The Devil's Temptation
  • Divided We Fall
    Divided We Fall
  • Follow Your Heart
    Follow Your Heart
  • Grandfather Gandhi
    Grandfather Gandhi
  • Strange Sweet Song
    Strange Sweet Song

Share your news

ALUMNI FACULTY CURRENT STUDENTS

Follow us